Governance and structure

L to R  Cllr Mark Coker, Cllr John Woodman, Cllr Andrea Davis, Cllr Geoff Brown, Cllr Mike Morey

The Board consists of the lead elected members for transport for each of the authorities Cllr Geoff Brown (Cornwall Council), Cllr Andrea Davis (Devon County Council), Cllr Mike Morey (Torbay Council), Cllr Mark Coker (Plymouth Council) and Cllr John Woodman (Somerset County Council) and has an agreed constitution.

Cllr Geoff Brown, Portfolio Holder for Transport at Cornwall Council was elected as chairman with Cllr Andrea Davis, Cabinet Member for Infrastructure, Development and Waste, at Devon County Council, as vice-chair. The chairmanship of Peninsula Transport will rotate each year. 

The Board is supported by a senior officer group consisting of the lead transport officers for each authority these are: Nigel Blackler (Cornwall Council), Jamie Hulland (Devon County Council), Kevin Mowat (Torbay Council), Anthony Payne (Plymouth City Council) and Paula Hewitt (Somerset County Council). Working to this group are a number of technical transport officers responsible for delivering the work programme on a day to day basis with financial, secretarial, communications and governance support

The Board agreed to set up a Transport Forum to help advise them.The Transport Forum is made up of representatives from business, transport operators (train, bus, coach, port, airport and freight), Sustrans and passenger/road user representatives and has clear terms of reference. The Transport Forum core group will meet three times a year and annually there will be a wider Transport User event which will also include representatives from district, town and parish councils as well as community groups.

For facts and figures about Peninsula Transport take a look at our leaflet